The Explorer Scout section caters for the ages 14 to 18 and is the responsibility of the District.

There are currently seven Explorer Scout Units (ESUs) in Stowmarket District meeting separately with their own programmes of activities at various times and in different places.

However, all these Explorer Scouts belong collectively to the Stowmarket District Dragon Explorer Scout Unit and will wear the identical and distinctive neckerchief of royal blue with an emerald green border and the dragon motif at the apex.

Explorer Scouts are entitled to attend meetings of any of the other Units as well as their own.

ESUs are deployed strategically throughout the District, based at existing Scout Groups and sharing facilities and equipment within the terms of Partnership Agreements.

The seven Explorer Scout Units are

BARBARIANS ESU covering 1st Bacton and 1st Mendlesham are based at Bacton Scout Centre.

CAVALIERS ESU catering for 1st Debenham meet at Debenham Community Centre.

COUGARS ESU drawing from 1st Combs are based at Combs Scout Centre.

EYE ESU providing for 1st Eye are based at the new Eye Scout Centre.

LEVIATHANS ESU covering 1st Wetherden & Haughley and Elmswell are based at Haughley Scout and Sports’ Pavilion.

PHOENIX ESU catering for 1st&3rd Stowmarket are based at the newly refurbished Stowmarket Scout Centre.

WOLVES ESU drawing from 1st Needham Market are based at Needham Market Scout Centre.

Each ESU is led by an Explorer Scout Leader (ESL), assisted by Assistant Explorer Scout Leaders (AESLs) – see Directory for names and contacts.

The Explorer Scout section is managed by the District Explorer Scout Commissioner (DESC) who is responsible to the District Commissioner and the District Executive Committee. The DESC is assisted by the District Explorer Scout Administrator (DESA).


Index of Explorer Units
Barbarians ESU (Based at 1st Bacton Scout Group) Friday 19:30 – 21:30 1st Bacton HQ

Cavaliers ESU (Based at 1st Debenham Scout Group) Thursday 20:00 – 22:00 Debenham Community Centre

Cougars ESU (Based at 1st Combs Scout Group) Tuesday 19:30 to 21:30 1st Combs HQ

Eye ESU (Based at 1st Eye Scout Group) Friday 20:00 – 21:30 1st Eye HQ

Leviathans ESU (Based at 1st Wetherden & Haughley Scout Group) Wednesday 19:30 – 21:30 1st Wetherden & Haughley HQ

Phoenix ESU (Based at 1st/3rd Stowmarket Scout Group) Monday 19:30 – 21:30 Stowmarket Scout Centre

Wolves ESU (Based at 1st Needham Market Scout Group) Thursday 19:30 – 21:30 1st Needham Market HQ

Other Awards


Young Leaders Scheme Information

Young Leaders Scheme


To find out more information please fill in the form below

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Phone Number (required)


Your Message


Security code
Please enter the security code into the box below